Way of Truth Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Way of Truth Forums

A Forum Site For Christians Seeking the Way of Truth

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

The New Heavens and Earth

Go down 
AuthorMessage
TomL
Admin
TomL

The New Heavens and Earth Empty
PostSubject: The New Heavens and Earth   The New Heavens and Earth EmptyThu Oct 18, 2012 1:06 pm

About 2 years ago, I was in a discussion with a friend, and here is how that discussion went in part.

I was asked what I thought about the new heavens and earth in Revelations 21. The following quote was my response.
Quote :
I think that would depend upon what the new heaven and the new earth are. It's been a while since I studied textural criticism. But, it would seem to me the first heaven and earth would have to be of the same character or nature as the new heaven and earth. Therefore we must answer the question, what is the character and nature of the new heaven and earth, and what makes them new?

2 Corinthians 5.17 states, "Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new." Does the "all things have become new" include the heaven and earth? I believe it does. Therefore, it is Christ that causes the heaven and earth to become new. The first heaven and earth would be the heaven and earth without Christ. What else is new because of Christ? The covenant. Heaven and earth under the new covenant is the new heaven and earth. Therefore, the first heaven and earth were the heaven and earth under the old covenant.